Marsa C.C too strong for Pirbright C.C

Last weekend the Marsa C.C played a two game series against newcomers Pribright C.C. It was to be a high scoring weekend for the home team.

4 April 2012, 12:00am
Pribright C.C
Pribright C.C
On Saturday the Marsa team batted first and amassed one of there highest team score since July of 2009. They scored 267 runs.

Dave Borg led the way with his first century ending with 103 runs. This was the first century since May of 2010 against a touring team. He scored nine fours and three sixes along the way. Sunny Krishna just managed to make fifty runs before getting bowled. Mike Caruana (thirty one runs) and John Grima (twenty one runs) were the other batsmen who contributed to the score. For Pirbright R.Law took two wickets while D.Connery and R.Oakley took a wicket each.

As what happens when a team is chasing a high score, risks are taken and the visitors found themselves in deep water and ended up being bowled out for 98 runs. D.Connery top scored with eighteen runs while S.Hailwood (sixteen runs), H.Dennis (fifteen runs) and S.Gray (thirteen runs)were the main scorers. For the home team Mike Caruana and Gordon Hewitt took three wickets a piece while Kevin Krishna and Sarfraz Ali took two wickets each.

On Sunday Pribright were out to avenge the result of the previous day. Unfortunately the Marsa team batted first again and managed to amass another high score and over took the previous days score, scoring 285 runs. This time Ronnie Sacco lead the way scoring his second century since 2005. He scored a 100 runs which included ten fours and one six along the way. Justin Brooke also played a great innings scoring seventy seven runs. Tim Wheeler scored twenty eight runs, Chris Riordan thirty five runs and Sean Byrne fifteen runs from the total. For the visitors S.Aldrich, R.Law and R.Oakley took a wicket each.

In reply Pribright again went for the runs, taking plenty of risks and again were bowled out, this time for 122 runs. B.Flanegan top scored with fifteen runs, J.Thompson fourteen runs and S.Aldrich thirteen runs were the main scorers. For the Marsa team Sean Byrne , Tony Slater and Andy Naudi were the main wicket takers with two each. Marsa win the series two to nil.

Next Saturday sees the start to the Summer League. Marsa C.C play Krishna C.C. The Sunoco cricket academy/nursery will be from 9:00 till 10:30am.

Last  Thursday the Malta Cricket Association had  a schools cricket festival which included, Kirkop Boys Secondary, Poala Boys Secondary, Pembroke Girls Secondary and San Anton secondary. Thank you to the Sport Promotion Unit , A big thank you to all the teachers ,. An even bigger thank you to all those that helped, Adam Caruana, Malcolm Crabbe , Gordon P Hewitt , Mike Rawle , George Roberts, Johnnie Gee Grima Ewan Perens, and all the children who participated. The Poala "C" team won the tournament with Pembroke Girls Secondary being the runners up.