Overseas women win summer league

Overseas Women win summer league

28 August 2012, 12:00am
The home team batted first. Dhruv Duggal opened the innings and top scored with eighty two runs from eighty four runs which included eleven fours and two sixes. Simon Lavender (eighteen runs), Sunny Krishna (seventeen runs), Andy Lenard (nineteen runs) and Pragnesh Vaso (fourteen runs) all made it into double figures but were not able to go on and make big scores.

Aided with twenty six extras the home team made 196 runs from their allotted overs. James Thompson Glover was the main wicket taker for the visitors with three, Will Wallace took two, while four bowlers, Alex Hammond, Rob Fekrara,Tom Kain and Charles Wise took a wicket each.

In reply the Bounders set themselves up nicely with J.Summers scoring forty eight runs, Tom Kain thirty five runs, Alex Darroch twenty six runs and F.Isles twenty one runs. Ronnie Sacco and Dhruv Duggal had other ideas as they both took three wickets each. Pragnesh Vaso took two and Simon Lavender one wicket. John Grima managed to run out Summers and the visitors score ended on 180 runs all out.

On Sunday the final two games of the Womens Summer league between Marsa C.C and Overseas C.C were played. In the first game the Marsa team batted first and put up a total of 73 runs. Sarah Ghoseroy top scored with twenty three runs, Carole Khosla nineteen runs, Sarah Bulteel seventeen runs and Daniela Aquilina thirteen runs as the main scorers.

For the Overseas Sarah Khosla was the main wicket taker with three. In reply the Overseas could only muster 70 runs from their overs. Rose Bulteel top scored with twenty four runs, Sarah Khosla twenty two runs and Julie Camilleri fifteen runs. Daniela Aquilina was the only wicket taker with one. Marsa go two one up in the series.

In the second game the Marsa team batted first again and slightly improved on the first games score, making 77 runs. The two Sarah's again were in the runs, Bulteel with thirty five runs and Ghoseroy with twenty nine runs.. For the Overseas Sarah Khosla and Katleen Bulteel took a wicket each for the Overseas. The Overseas were determined to win and with great batting from Rose Bulteel (thirty runs), Sarah Khosla (twenty eight runs) and Katleen Bulteel (sixteen runs) they managed to win the game. This brought the series to a tie and a bowl was to decide the league. Julie Camilleri was the only one to hit the stumps and therefore the Overseas C.C win the title.

Next Saturday the Maltese national Cricket team head off to Corfu to compete in the European division two Championship. Can be followed from the following link http://www.cricketeurope4.net/CRICKETEUROPE/DATABASE/2012/TOURNAMENTS/EURODIV2/index.shtml