Melita dampen Krishna hopes

On Saturday the Krishna C.C team were geared up to take the Cricket Winter league shield playing against a hopeful Melita C.C who still have an outside chance of taking the title.

18 February 2013, 12:00am
Justin Brooke batting
Justin Brooke batting
The Krishna team batted first with Bikram Arora and Andy Lenard opened the innings. Lenard was first to go being caught by Simon Lavendar for three runs. Tony Slater did not add to the score but defied the bowlers for ten balls before being bowled. Matthew Gillard scored three runs before he two was bowled.

John Rusher did not look like getting out by any of the bowling, unfortunately after thirty five balls he called an adventurous run and was brilliantly run out by Sam Aquilina by a direct hit  who dashed in from mid off picked up and did not miss his target.

Rusher made six runs. Arora went on to retire after forty balls and returned to end up being the highest scorer for the Krishna team with forty two runs. Nowell Khosla scored twenty three runs from twenty nine balls, Mike Caruana twelve runs, Sid  Anand one run, Kevin Krishna three runs and aided with with extras the Krishna team were bowled out on the last ball of the innings for 117 runs. Andy Naudi and Robert Krishna took two wickets each, while Eric Krishna and Justin Farrin Thorne took a wicket each.

The Melita reply started of on shaky grounds with Simon Lavendar and Robert Krishna both making four runs each and Justin Far

rin Thorne making a run a ball thirteen. This brought together Sam Aquilina and Justin Brooke who both played excellent  innings. They did not risk any fancy shots and took plenty of singles. Brooke retired after forty balls making thirty nine runs which included three fours and a six. Aquilina made a run a ball thirty one which included five boundaries,  three of which were of consecutive balls. Chris Naudi was relieved to score a four of the first ball he faced only to be bowled of the second one. Matt McKeogh remained on six runs not out when the winning runs were made.

There were seventeen extras. For Krishna Tony Slater took two wickets, Kevin Krishna and Sid Anand taking a wicket each. The Melita team dampened the Krishna teams hopes and earned eight points for the win, while Krishna earned one point and will need to win next Saturday against Marsa to win the title.

Saturday morning from 9:00am till 10:30am the Sunoco cricket academy will be held.