Marsa defeat the Czech Republic

On Friday, the Malta Cricket Association T20 Cricket Competition commenced with Malta , Czech Republic, Hungary and Russia taking part.

Kevin Grech
18 October 2013, 12:00am

The tournament opener was played between the Czech Republic and Russia, where Russia won the toss and elected to bowl first. The Czech Republic managed to last their overs and made 104 runs with Navoneil Bhattacharya top coring with thirty three runs. The Russian team managed to make the runs within fifteen overs with Khalil Ke-Rahman top scoring with forty seven runs. The Russian team earn two points from the win.

In the second game the Czech Republic won the toss and elected to bat first. At one stage they were looking to make a big score. The Malta bowlers bowled well and the fielders were on their toes, which took an amazing four run outs.

The Czech team were bowled out in the last over and managed to make 118 runs. Manjeet Malik making sixty four runs which included five fours and three sixes. These runs coming of forty six balls. For Marsa Ronnie Sacco was the main wicket taker with two while George Agius, Nowell Khosla, Justin Brooke and Bikram Arora took a wicket each.

In Reply the Marsa batsmen were on song. The opening pair of Nowell Khosla (seventeen runs) and Justin Brooke (twenty nine runs) set up the stage for one of Malta's entertaining batsmen Bikram Arora who totally stole the game away from the Czech Republic making forty nine runs not out from twenty six balls which included five fours and three sixes.

Mark G Sacco also was not out with eight runs. There were eighteen extras which did not help the Czech side at all. Imran Al-Haq and Adam Davies were the only wicket takers.
Malta earn two points from the win.

Tomorrow the morning game will see today's winners playing each other and in the Afternoon the Russian team take on Hungary.

In between the games four schools, St Martins Swatar, St Clares Pembroke, Verdala and San Andrea took part in a quick game of cricket.

Kevin Grech is MaltaToday's sports editor. He has been the designer of MaltaToday's print ...