BOV Premier League | Birkirkara 1 – Gżira United 1

Gżira’s positive run of results continued with a 1-1 draw against Birkirkara.

Warren Zammit
30 April 2017, 8:55pm
Edward Herrera (Birkirkara) and Ian Azzopardi (Gżira) in action. Photo: Dominic Borg
Edward Herrera (Birkirkara) and Ian Azzopardi (Gżira) in action. Photo: Dominic Borg
Birkirkara went close after four minutes. Edward Herrera delivered a cross towards Ryan Scicluna whose low shot was parried by Jurgen Borg.

On the 15th minute, the stripes were unlucky not to go ahead. Predrag Jovic sent a shot from distance that hit the post.

Gżira responded on the 23rd minute. Moises Avila Perez served Andrew Cohen and the latter finished marginally wide.

On the 34th minute, Cohen went close again. The Gżira midfielder sent a shot from distance that ended up centimetres off target.

Five minutes later, it was again Cohen who fired a shot that was saved by Henry Bonello.

Birkirkara hit back on the 42nd minute. Edmond Agius hit a shot from a free kick that forced a difficult save from Borg.

Borg was on the alert once more on the 54th minute. From another free kick, Gary Muir’s shot was spectacularly blocked by the Gżira shot stopper.

Despite Birkirkara’s efforts, the Maroons managed to break the deadlock on the 67th minute. Carlos Reyna went on the left flank and sent a cross that was met by Ige Abdullahi Adeshina who slotted the ball inside the net.

Gżira nearly scored again on the 73rd minute. Adeshina passed the ball towards Reyna whose close range shot was well saved by Bonello.

However, Birkirkara equalised four minutes from time. Vito Plut sent a shot from distance that gave Borg no chance.

Birkirkara starting line-up: Henry Bonello, Edmond Agius, Mislav Andjelkovic, Christian Bubalovic, Edward Herrera, Predrag Jovic, Gary Muir, Vito Plut, Gareth Sciberras, Ryan Scicluna, Joseph Zerafa

Gżira starting line-up: Jurgen Borg, Ige Abdullahi Adeshina, Moises Avila Perez, Ian Azzopardi, Jonathan Bondin, Andrew Cohen, Gianmarco Conti, Juan Corbalan, Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Zachary Scerri, Antonio De Queiroz Machedo Neto

Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann                

Assistant Referees: Paul Apap, Ryan Aquilina

Fourth Official: Dusan Petrovic

BOV Player of the Match: Andrew Cohen (Gżira United)