BOV Premier League | Floriana 1 – Birkirkara 2

Birkirkara finished in third place after earning an important 2-1 win over Floriana and thus they can play in Europe if they succeed in their appeal regarding the UEFA licence.

Warren Zammit
5 May 2017, 11:37pm
Ryan Camenzuli of Floriana in action. Photo: Christine Borg
Ryan Camenzuli of Floriana in action. Photo: Christine Borg
Birkirkara had a good chance on the 32nd minute. Srdan Dimitrov fired a shot that was well saved by Justin Haber.

Three minutes later, Floriana protested for a goal after Amadou Samb sent a shot past Bonello which was cleared by Nikola Vukanac. However, it wasn’t clear whether the ball had crossed the goal line or not. Ryan Camenzuli took hold of the rebound and hit the post.

Birkirkara went ahead on the 39th minute. Vito Plut went on the right flank and sent a cross that was met by Miguel Angel Alba who finished past Haber.

On the brink of half time, Camenzuli went through on goal but saw his effort being blocked by Bonello.

Bonello denied Camenzuli once more in the second half as the Birkirkara goalkeeper tipped his header for a corner.

The stripes doubled their advantage on the 77th minute. Alba served Plut and the latter slotted the ball inside the net.

Floriana reduced the margin of the score on the 81st minute. Following a free kick, Enrico Pepe finished home from close range.

Giovanni Tedesco’s side lost a golden opportunity to equalise in the additional time. Samb was brought down inside the penalty area by Joseph Zerafa and Fyodor Zammit signalled for a penalty. Enzo Ruiz took charge of the penalty kick and finished high.

Birkirkara starting line-up: Henry Bonello, Edward Herrera, Christian Bubalovic, Mislav Andjelkovic, Srdjan Dimitrov, Vito Plut, Nikola Vukanac, Joseph Zerafa, Miguel Alba, Ryan Scicluna, Gonzalo Malan

Floriana starting line-up: Justin Haber, Andre Scicluna, Antonio Monticelli, Enrico Pepe, Enzo Ruiz, Steve Pisani, Sebastian Nayar, Alex Cini, Amadou Samb, Nicolas Chiesa, Ryan Camenzuli

Referee: Fyodor Zammit
Assistant Referees: Luke Portelli, William Debattista
Additional Assistant Referees: Matthew De Gabriele, Stefan Pace
Fourth Official: Alan Camilleri

BOV Player of the Match: Miguel Angel Alba (Birkirkara)