FA Trophy | Pietà Hotspurs 2 – Zejtun Corinthians 0

Pietà are through to the quarter final of the FA Trophy as they registered a 2-0 win over Zejtun Corinthians.

Photo: Christine Borg
Photo: Christine Borg

The first half was played at a very slow tempo as both sides were cautious not to concede. Pietà had more of the ball, but Zejtun also had their moments and were unlucky not go ahead on the brink of half-time.

Pieta` created the first opportunity of the match after eleven minutes. From a free-kick, Christian Grech saw his volley going marginally wide.

 Pieta` threatened again on the 29th minute. Neil Pace Cocks fired a shot from the edge of the penalty area that failed to hit the target.

Zejtun replied on the 40th minute. Jose Vitor Antonio Meira’s effort was neutralised by Nicholas George Vella.

The First Division side were unlucky not to forge ahead one minute prior to half-time. Following a back pass, Pietà's goalkeeper grabbed the ball and thus the referee ordered an indirect free-kick from inside the penalty area. From the free-kick, Dragoljub Andelkovic fired a shot that hit the upright.

Pietà dominated the second half and scored two goals that sealed their win.

The Hotspurs broke the deadlock on the 56th minute. Following a corner, Christian Degabriele slotted the ball home.

Zejtun hit back immediately. Meira’s powerful drive forced a good save from Vella.

Ramon Zammit’s men kept on pushing forward and went close again on the 65th minute. Following a cross, Paul Chimezie headed the ball marginally wide.

Pietà doubled their advantage on the 73rd minute. Dylan Agius went through down the right flank before delivering the ball towards the unmarked Chimezie who placed the ball past Dunstan Zarb.

Zejtun tried to get back into the game and had a great chance one minute from time. Diego Albanese’s delivery from the left was met by Adam Smeir who forced an excellent save from Vella.

Pietà Hotspurs starting line-up: Nicholas George Vella, Ose Takaki, Christian Joseph Degabriele, Neil Pace Cocks, Dylan Agius, Paul Chimezie, Jan Busuttil, Christian Grech, Stevan Radovanovic, Uchenna Umeh Calistus, Ishaya Irmiya Jalo

Zejtun Corinthians starting line-up: Dunstan Zarb, Clayton Giordmaina, Ian Azzopardi, Jose Vitor Antonio Meira, Draguljub Andelkovic, Adrian Carabott, Gianluca Sultana, Diego Albanese, Brooke Farrugia, Neil Tabone, Andrè Farrugia

Referee: Malcolm Spiteri

Assistant Referees: Thomas Debono, Alan Camilleri

Fourth Official: Mario Apap

More in Football