Tour de France 2017: Edvald Boasson Hagen wins stage 19

Edvald Boasson Hagen won stage 19 of the Tour de France as Britain's Chris Froome maintained his overall lead.

Edvald Boasson Hagen
Edvald Boasson Hagen

The Norwegian was part of a 20-man breakaway but made a winning solo attack late on to finish ahead of Germany's Nikias Arndt in second and Jens Keukeleire of Belgium in third.

It was Boasson Hagen's third Tour stage victory, but his first since 2011.

Team Sky rider Froome crossed the line in Salon-de-Provence over 12 minutes behind the stage winner.

But the three-time champion retains the yellow jersey and will take a 23-second lead over Romain Bardet into Saturday's time trial in Marseille - the penultimate stage - with Rigoberto Uran six seconds further adrift.

Britain's Simon Yates remains in the best young rider's white jersey, with an advantage of two minutes six seconds over nearest rival Louis Meintjes of South Africa.