Cricket: Magpies defeat Melita

On Saturday the Cricket Winter Wallop continued with a thumping win from the Magpies who soared from the bottom of the ladder to the top by edging out Melita.

Tony Azzopardi
Tony Azzopardi

The Magpies won the toss and batted first. Tony Azzopardi and Mark G.Sacco gave a solid start making thirty five runs and twenty eight runs respectively. Haroon Majeed was at his blasting best making forty four runs from twenty three balls which included five fours and two sixes. Andrew Naudi was also amongst the run makers smashing thirty five runs from twenty two balls which include six fours, four which were consecutive.

Ronnie Sacco chipped in with ten runs towards the end of the innings. Five other batsmen made as many runs between them. The most decisive factor of the game was the forty one extras which gave the Marsa team a very respectable total of 189 runs from their twenty overs. For the Melita team Tim Wheeler took two wickets while Joy Ghoseroy, Jack Barrett and Chris Bedford took a wicket each.

The league leaders opened up with Frank Spiteri and Jack Barrett, also gave their team a solid stat with thirty runs and thirty nine runs respectively. Matt McKeogh kept the game alive with some impressive shots which included four fours and a six, he remained not out with forty three runs. Joy Ghoseroy (twenty two runs), Daniel Galea (seven runs) and Ian Pendelbury (nine runs not out) all tried desperately for their team with two of them being run out.

The Marsa team only gave away nineteen extras which left the Melita team a score of 171 runs at the end of the innings. A loss of eighteen runs and the difference between exrtras was twenty two, the Melita team will be pretty sore with themselves. The two wickets taken by Marsa went too Ronnie Sacco and Haroon Majeed.

The Marsa team took sixteen points from the win while Melita took three.

Next Saturday the Melita team take on Krishna. Melita looking to take back top spot while Krishna looking to stay in the race.

On Saturday the Sunoco Cricket Academy/Nursery will be from 9:00 till 10:30am.