FA Trophy | SK Victoria Wanderers 2 – Pembroke Athleta 0

SK Victoria Wanderers will be the first Gozitan team to play the semi-final of the FA trophy following a 2-0 win over Pembroke Athleta.

SK Victoria Wanderers
SK Victoria Wanderers

In the early stages of the match Pembroke tried their luck from two dead ball situations but both their efforts went wide.

SK Victoria Wanderers hit back on the 5th minute. Predrag Djordjevic sent a shot that forced a good save from Matthew Calleja Cremona.

Five minutes later, the Gozitan side forced another good save from Calleja Cremona. Igor Grkajak hit a shot from a free kick that was well saved by Pembroke’s goalkeeper.

A minute later, Pembroke protested for a penalty when Stevan Racic was brought down inside the penalty area but the referee signalled play on.

SK Victoria Wanderers went ahead on the 28th minute. Milanko Raskovic sent a cross inside the penalty area and in his attempts to clear the danger, Miguel Attard finished inside his own net.

Three minutes later, Matthew Towns was on the alert to deny Pembroke from scoring the equaliser. Kooh Sohna went inside the penalty area and fired a shot that was parried by the English goalkeeper.

From the resulting corner, Zoran Levnaic saw his effort being blocked, and from the rebound Adrian Borg finished off target.

On the 49th minute, SK Victoria Wanderers increased the margin of the score through another goal from Djordjevic. The latter received from Malankovic Raskovic and headed inside the net.

On the 57th minute, Raskovic went on a good run but Calleja Cremona blocked his effort on the edge of the penalty area.

A minute later, Sohna sent a cross towards Racic whose effort was blocked.

Pembroke's hopes of scoring a consolation goal faded away three minutes into additional time when Andreas Scozzese saw red.

SK Victoria Wanderers starting line-up: Matthew Towns, Sam Frank Bajada, Dylan Mercieca, Srdjan Draskovic, Aleksandar Kolmljenovic, Predrag Djordjevic, Christopher Sciortino, Ian Xuereb, Igor Grkajac, Milanko Raskovic, Fernando Giarrizo.

Pembroke starting line-up: Matthew Calleja Cremona, Miguel Attard, Adrian Borg, Zoran Levnaic, Tonci Radovnikovic, Filippo Andrea Scozzese, Paltemio Barbetti, Go Nagaoka, Daren Falzon, Raphael Kooh Sohna, Stevan Racic.

Referee: Eman Grech
Assistant Referees: Thomas Debono, Peter Abela
Fourth Official: Malcolm Spiteri