FA Trophy | Tarxien Rainbows 2 – Balzan 1

Balzan are out of the FA trophy after suffering a 2-1 defeat at the hands of ten-men Tarxien Rainbows.

Photo: Christine Borg
Photo: Christine Borg

Balzan created the first chance on goal after eleven minutes. Lydon Micallef sent a shot from close range that forced a good save from Andrea Cassar.

Oliver Spiteri’s side broke the deadlock on the 43rd minute. Bojan Kaljevic delivered the ball in the direction of Micallef and in an attempt to anticipate him, Tarxien’s defender Ebiabowei Baker finished past his own goalkeeper.

The Rainbows started the second half seeking an equaliser and won a penalty on the 50th minute. Samir Arab brought down Alex Nillson inside the penalty area and the referee pointed towards the spot. From the elven metres mark, Triston Caruana made no mistake and finished past Ivan Janjusevic.

Balzan hit back on the 73rd minute. Paul Fenech fired a shot from distance that ended up slightly over.

Two minutes later, Jesmond Zerafa’s side responded through Alex Ponce De Leon Garcia whose shot went high.

On the 76th minute, the Rainbows lost their captain and goal scorer. Caruana was shown his second yellow card following a foul on Milos Lepovic.

The score remained 1-1 through the remaining minutes and the game went into extra time.

Balzan increased their efforts and had a good chance on the 103rd minute. Matteo Piciollo sent a shot that was well saved by Andrea Cassar.

Cassar was on the alert once more on the 111th minute to deny Balzan. Abdelkarim Nafti served Alfred Effiong and the latter hit a shot that forced a good save from the Tarxien goalkeeper.

However, against the run of play, Tarxien scored the winning goal. Nilsson ran inside the penalty area and sent a cross which took a deflection off Arab for an own goal.

Balzan starting line-up: Ivan Janjusevic, Samir Arab, Bojan Kaljevic, Elkin Serrano Valero, Steve Bezzina, Alan da Silva Souza, Dylan Grima, Lydon Micallef, Paul Fenech, Milos Lepovic, Ryan Fenech.

Tarxien Rainbows starting line-up: Andrea Cassar, Ebiabowei Baker, Emerson Marcelina, Triston Caruana, Daniel Ponce de Leon Garcia , Alex Nilsson, Sergio Fernandez Prendes, Daniel Zerafa, Alex da Paixo Alves, Matthew Tabone, Kurt Zammit.

Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Assistant Referees: Alan Camilleri, Edward Spiteri
Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia

More in Football

Get access to the real stories first with the digital edition