BOV Premier League | Hibernians 3 – Pembroke 0

Hibernians found no difficulty against Pembroke as the Paolites registered a comfortable 3-0 win to go first.

Gilmar Ribeiro Da Silva of Hibernians in action. Photo: Christine Borg
Gilmar Ribeiro Da Silva of Hibernians in action. Photo: Christine Borg

Hibs created the first opportunity on goal after four minutes. Marcelo Dias won the ball inside Pebroke’s half and attempted a shot on target that was blocked by Irakkus Roppas.

Mark Miller’s side went ahead on the 9th minute. Jurgen Degabriele went on the right flank and sent a cross towards Jorge Da Silva Pereira who headed inside the net.

On the 13th minute, Clayton Failla sent a shot from a free kick that ended up slightly high.

Ten minutes later, Gilmar Ribeiro Da Silva fired a strong shot that forced a difficult save from Argyras Roppas.

Gilmar was close again on the 35th minute. Marcelo Dias sent a dangerous cross towards the Brazilian whose effort went wide.

On the 55th minute, Jorginho served Gilmar and the latter saw his effort going marginally wide.

The Paolites doubled the score on the 64th minute. Following a lot of challenges inside Pembroke’s penalty area, Degabriele finished home from close range.

On the 69th minute, Hibs had another opportunity. Gilmar exchanged possession with Failla who finished wide.

Eight minutes from time, Degabriele tried to place the ball inside the net from distance; however, Roppas tipped his effort behind for a corner.

Nonetheless, Hibernians still scored their third goal three minutes later. From a corner, Jackson Lima found Dejan Boljevic and the Montenegrin defender headed past Roppas.

Pembroke starting line-up: Argyrs Roppas, Filippo Andrea Scozzese, Daren Falzon, Miguel Attard, Stevan Racic, Zoran Levnaic, Daniane Jawad, Tonci Radovnikovic, Iraklis Roppas, Sunday Eboh, Tyron Fenech.

Hibernians starting line-up: Andrew Hogg, Rodolfo Soares, Dejan Boljevic, Marcelo Dias, Jackson de Lima Siqueira, Clayton Failla, Bjorn Kristensen, Jorge da Silva Pereira, Jurgen Degabriele, Gilmar Ribeiro da Silva, Andrei Agius.

Referee: Sandro Spiteri
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Ryan Aquilina
Fourth Official: Fyodor Zammit
BOV Player of the Match: Jurgen Degabriele (Hibs)