BOV Premier League | Valletta 1 – Floriana 1

Valletta failed to register a single victory against Floriana this season as the two teams shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw.

Romeu Romao of Valletta trying to hold on to possession. Photo: Dominic Borg
Romeu Romao of Valletta trying to hold on to possession. Photo: Dominic Borg

Floriana went close after thirteen minutes. Ryan Camenzuli won possession from Santiago Malano and passed the ball towards Iganacio Varela who finished wide.

Valletta responded on the 27th minute. Leandro Aguirre sent a cross shot that was saved by Justin Haber.

Haber was on the alert once more on the 34th minute. Steve Borg delivered the ball towards Malano and the latter hit a first time shot that was saved by Haber.

A minute later, Valdo Goncalves Alhinho fired a shot from distance that ended up slightly high.

Floriana had a good chance on the 64th minute. Following a cross, Sebastian Nayar sent a header which was saved by Dziugas Bartkus.

Paul Zammit’s side hit back on the 71st minute. Alhinho hit a powerful drive from distance that ended up off target.

Ten minutes later, Valletta went ahead. Michael Mifsud went on a good run and fired a low shot that gave Haber no chance.

However, Floriana equalised five minutes later. Ryan Camenzuli received the ball inside the penalty area and finished past Bartkus.

Immediately after, Floriana were reduced to ten men as Haber received his second yellow card.

Following this result, Hibernians are five points clear of both Balzan and Valletta.

Floriana starting line-up: Justin Haber, Steve Pisani, Antonio Monticelli, Enrico Pepe, Enzo Ruiz, Ignacio Varela, Ryan Camenzuli, Alex Cini, Sebastian Nayar, Nicolas Chiesa, Mario Fontanella

Valletta starting line-up: Dziugas Bartkus, Jonathan Caruana, Steve Borg, Leandro Aguirre, Romeu Pericles Romao, Jean Borg, Claudio Pani, Uchenna Calistus Umeh, Valdo Goncalves Alhinho, Santiago Malano, Luke Montebello.

Referee: Glen Tonna
Assistant Referees: Luke Portelli, Chris Francalanza
Additional Assistant Referees: Malcolm Spiteri, Matthew De Gabriele
Fourth Official: Peter Abela

BOV Player of the Match: Valdo Goncalves Alhinho (Valletta)