BOV Premier League |Sliema Wanderers 1 – Ħamrun Spartans 0

Sliema Wanderers secured their third win in a row after beating Ħamrun Spartans 1-0.

Photo: Christine Borg
Photo: Christine Borg

The Wanderers went close after six minutes. Francis Qeros ran inside the penalty area and hit a shot that went marginally over.

Ħamrun responded on the 16th minute. Dale Camilleri served Cristian Zaccardo and the latter missed the target with just the goalkeeper to beat.

A minute later, Sliema went ahead. Philip Chircop handled the ball inside the penalty area and the referee signalled towards the spot. Mattias Muchardi took charge of the penalty kick and saw his shot being saved by Jake Galea. However, Qeros took hold of the rebound and finished inside the net.

Galea had to be alert on the 35th minute. Muchardi was put through on goal by Frank Temile, but found the young Ħamrun goalkeeper in his way.

Muchardi was denied by Ħamrun’s goalkeeper once more on the brink of half time. The Argentine hit a shot that forced a good save from Galea.

The Spartans increased the tempo in the second half and went close immediately when substitute Lydon Micallef sent a shot that was saved by Glenn Zammit.

However, Ħamrun’s efforts took a setback on the 64th minute when Felipe de Castro was sent off after receiving his second yellow card.

Sliema hit back on the 75th minute. Following a fast counter, Qeros saw his effort being saved by Galea. From the rebound, Gabriel Aquilina’s shot was cleared off the line by Daniel Zerafa.

Ħamrun’s last opportunity was created in the additional time when Tiston Caruana hit a shot that ended up centimetres off target.

Sliema Wanderers starting line-up: Glenn Zammit, Stefano Bianciardi, Matias Muchardi, Frank Temile, Gabriel Aquilina, Jefferson De Assis, Jonathan Pearson, Edmond Agius, Frenci Qeros, John Mintoff, Goran Adamovic

Ħamrun Spartans starting line-up: Jake Galea, Tiago Souza De Silveira, Daniel Zerafa, Philip Chircop, Triston Caruana, Cristian Zaccardo, Felipe de Castro, Thiaguinho Edpindola de Paula, Francisco Clavero, Dale Camilleri, Pedro Oliveira