FA Trophy | Birkirkara 2- Hamrun Spartans 1

Birkirkara are also in the quarter final of the FA Trophy as they came from behind to secure a 2-1 win over Hamrun Spartans.

Photo: Dominic Borg
Photo: Dominic Borg

Hamrun broke the deadlock after twelve minutes. Kevin Tulimieri’s shot was parried by Kristijan Naumovski. The ball bounced off Eduardo Ferriera and ended up inside the net.

Birkirkara equalised on the 48th minute. Following a mistake by Manuel Bartolo, Jorge da Silva Pereira slotted the ball inside the net.

The Stripes scored the winning goal on the 71st minute. Ferriera was brought down inside the penalty area and the referee ordered a penalty. From the eleven metres mark, Marcelo de Siqueira made no mistake.

Birkirkara starting line-up: Kristijan Naumoski, Danilo Chapoval, Matthew Guillaumier, Mislav Andjelkovic, Maurizio Vella, Kurt Zammit, Eduardo Ferriera, Michael Mifsud, Johann Bezzina, Cain Attard, Jorge da Silva Pereira

Ħamrun Spartans starting line-up: Manuel Bartolo, Enrico Pepe, Triston Caruana, Sebastian Nayar, Wilfried Domoraud, Matthew Gauci, Marco Criaco, Karl Micallef, Orestis Nikolopoulos, Caetano Calil, Kevin Tulimieri

Referee: Glen Tonna
Assistant Referees: Chris Francalanza, William Debattista
Fourth Official: Alan Mario Sant

More in Football