Republic Day Finals

On 13th December in order to celebrate the 40th Anniversary since Malta became a Republic, the Marsa Racetrack will be hosting 6 finals for trotters and one pony race.

This racing programme is part of the activities organised by the Foundation for National Celebrations and in fact it was the FCN that provided the funds for all the prize money that is going to be distributed in these 7 races as well as the trophies.

Interest by horse owners to participate in these races was very encouraging and in fact 18 qualification races were held on Sunday 23rd and Friday 28th November.

Each of the trot finals will have 12 participants and the draws for the Class Gold, Silver A, Silver B, Bronze and Copper have already been done last Monday. On the otherhand the draws for the Premier Class were done today in the presence of all the owners and drivers of finalist horses.

  1. The 12 horses in the final with their probable drivers are the following:
  2. Veikko Hornline (Julian Farrugia)
  3. P.A.Surprise (Lorraine Cunningham)
  4. Vejby Boom (Charles Camilleri)
  5. Wiss Roadrunner (Mario Farrugia)
  6. Gently di Poggio (Brian Hili)
  7. Nova Kebell (Redent Magro)
  8. Zalgado Transs R (Nicholas Bonello)
  9. Madam di Poggio (Noel Baldacchino)
  10. Carmen Sund (Kurt Saliba)
  11. Zwack (Eric Bezzina)
  12. Schwerin Boko (Rodney Gatt)
  13. Tap Dance (Michael Ellul)

A total of 9000 Euro in prize money is going to be distributed in these 7 races of which 2400 euro will be won in the Premier class.  In all the trot finals the first four finishers will be awarded trophies whilst in the pony race it is the first three that will be receiving these awards.

The press conference was addressed by the Parliamentary Secretary responsible from Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport the Hon. Chris Agius, the Chairman of the Malta Racing Club Dr Matthew Brincat and one of the members of the organising committee for the FCN Mr Jason Busuttil.

First race starts at 1:15 p.m.

23:01 test