Roderick Briffa wins Footballer of the Year Award

Malta international defender/midfielder Roderick Briffa crowned a most successful season for him and for Valletta by claiming the Footballer of the Year Award of the Malta Football Association.

The award was presented during the association's Annual Awards ceremony which was held on Friday at Le Meridien St. Julian's Hotel and Spa.

Briffa claimed the coveted award ahead of Valletta defender Jonathan Caruana and Marsaxlokk's Gareth Sciberras. The other two finalists were another two Valletta players - Denni Rocha Dos Santos and Gilbert Agius.

Footballer of the Year: Roderick Briffa (Valletta)

Best First Division Player: John Paul Muscat (Mqabba)

Best Second Division Player: Adam Smeir (Rabat Ajax)

Best Third Division Player: Lee Baldacchino (Luqa St. Andrew's)

Best Youth Player: Zach Muscat (Pietà Hotspurs)

Best Futsal Player: Florin Anton (ZC Excess Futsal)

Best Woman Player: Rachael Cuschieri (Birkirkara)

Top Scorers 

Premier League:  Alfred Effiong (Marsaxlokk) 17 goals.

First Division: Simon Shead (Mosta) 16 goals.

Second Division: Timothy Thomas (Zebbug) 22 goals.

Third Division: Jason Camilleri (Siggiewi) 24 goals.

Women's First Division: Ylenia Carabott (Hibs) 19 goals.

Women's Second Division: Amber Grech (Pembroke) 37 goals.

Futsal First Division: Jovica Milijic (Paola Downtown) 42 goals.

Futsal Second Division: Hashem Rababah (Capital) 36 goals.

Futsal Third Division: Stephen Zammit (City Boys) 29 goals.

Futsal Fourth Division: Wayne Hamer (Charline Stars) 25 goals.

Fair Play Awards

Premier Division: Tarxien Rainbows.

First Division: Mqabba.

Second Division: Rabat Ajax.

Third Division: Marsaskala.

Youth League: Hibernians.

Women's League: Pembroke Athleta.

Overall Winner: Rabat Ajax.

More in Football