Confederations Cup | Portugal 2 – Mexico 1

In a dramatic match, Pepe’s late goal and Adrien Silva’s penalty in extra time gave Portugal a 2-1 win over Mexico that sealed third place.

Gullermo Ochoa of Mexico in action
Gullermo Ochoa of Mexico in action

Portugal had a good chance after five minutes. Gelson Martins went running on the right flank and sent a cross in the direction of Nani who finished off target.

The European champions lost a penalty on the 16th minute. Andre` Silva received the ball inside the penalty area and was brought down by Rafael Marquez. The referee consulted the video assistant referee and decided to order a penalty. However, from the elven metres mark, Silva’s shot was well saved by Gullermo Ochoa.

From the resulting corner, Nani lost a promising chance as he headed over the bar from close range.

On the 23rd minute, Portugal threatened again. Pizzi won the ball inside Mexico’s half, went inside the penalty area and fired a low shot that ended up slightly wide.

Mexico replied with a good opportunity on the 31st minute. Carlos Vela sent a wonderful reverse ball towards Javier Hernandez. The Mexican striker hit a powerful drive that forced an excellent save from Rui Patricio.

The Portuguese had another chance on the 36th minute. Following some good play, Martins saw his long range shot being blocked by Ochoa in a rather unconvincing manner.

On the 51st minute, Joao Moutinho tried his luck from distance but his shot went over.

A minute later, Silva played an excellent ball towards Martins and the latter finished off target.

However, Mexico managed to break the deadlock on the 54th minute through an own goal. Javier Hernandez sent a cross inside the goal area that bounced off defender Luis Neto and ended up inside the net.

The Mexicans opened Portugal’s defence again a minute later. Hector Herrera went through on goal but found Patricio in his way.

Portugal increased pressure in their attempts to equalise and had a good opportunity on the 59th minute. Pizzi’s shot from inside the penalty area went wide.

Ochoa produced another wonderful save to deny Portugal on the hour mark. Moutinho’s headed cross was met by Martins who directed a powerful header goal wards. However, Ochoa stuck out his left arm and turned the ball brilliantly over the bar.

Mexico hit back on the 65th minute. Carlos Vella sent a volley from inside the penalty area that hit the side netting.

On the 83rd minue, Vela sent Hernandez through on the left side of the penalty area. Particio went rushing out of his goal line and blocked the Bayer Leverkusen man.

Portugal equalised in the additional time given by the referee. Ricardo Quaresma’s cross was met by Pepe and the Real Madrid defender diverted the ball inside the net to send the game into extra time.

Mexico nearly regained the lead three minutes into extra time. Following a corner, the ball fell for Hirving Lozano whose close range shot was saved by Patricio.

Portugal responded on the 99th minute. From a free kick, Eliseu sent a powerful shot that ended up marginally over.

The Portuguese went ahead on the 104th minute through another penalty. Miguel Layun handled the ball inside the penalty area and the referee ordered another penalty in favour of Portugal. This time, Silva managed to finish behind Ochoa.

On the 106th minute, Portugal ended up in ten men as Semedo was shown his second yellow card.

Mexico also lost a player on the 112th minute. Rual Jimenez was shown his second yellow card following a foul on Eliseu.

Patricio denied Mexico once more on the 119th minute. Herrera fired stunning volley from outside the penalty area that was parried by the Sporting Lisbon goalkeeper.

In the latter stages of the extra time, Mexico’s coach Juan Carlos Osario was sent off by the referee following some remarks.

Portugal starting line-up: Rui Patricio, Pepe, Luis Neto, Joao Moutinho, Andre` Silva, Nelson Semedo, Danilo, Pizzi, Nani, Gelson Martins, Eliseu

Mexico starting line-up: Gullermo Ochoa, Nestor Araujo, Rafael Marquez, Miguel Layun, Carlos Vela, Javier Hernandez, Hector Moreno, Hector Herrera, Andres Guardado, Oribe Peralta, Luis Reyes

Referee: Fahad Al Mirdasi (Saudi Arabia)