BOV Premier League | Floriana 0 – Balzan 0

In a match without a story, Floriana and Balzan shared the spoils in a goalless draw.

Photo: Dominic Borg
Photo: Dominic Borg

The first half was mediocre with neither side threatening much. The tempo of the match was very slow as both teams shared possession inside the centre of the pitch. Floriana were slightly better than Balzan and created two chances on goal.

The Greens created the first chance on goal after 15 minutes. Brandon Paiber fired a shot from close range that was blocked by Sean Mintoff.

Floriana went close again on the brink of half-time. Arthur Oyama’s cross from a corner was met by Enzo Ruiz whose effort was tipped behind for a corner by Sean Mintoff.

Guido Ugolotti’s men made a good start to the second half and threatened Balzan again on the 48th minute. Kristian Keqi drilled a low shot from the left side of the penalty area that failed to hit the target.

Balzan hit back and were awarded an indirect free-kick from inside the penalty area on the 53rd minute following a dangerous play. However, Ricardo Calixto Correa Duarte’s shot stamped off the wall.

Supporters had to witness till the 73rd minute to witness another chance on goal. Correa Duarte sent a low shot from distance that was neutralised by Ini Etim Akpan without much difficulty.

Floriana replied on the 82nd minute. Clyde Borg fired a powerful volley from distance that ended up marginally over.

Balzan were unlucky not to score three minutes later. Following a free-kick, Correa Duarte deflected the ball towards the post. The ball fell for Aleksandar Kosoric who fired over.

Floriana had a goal disallowed on the 90th minute. Following a corner, the ball was deflected inside Balzan’s net. However, the referee ruled out the goal.

Floriana starting line-up: Ini Etim Akpan, Enzo Ruiz, Kristian Keqi, Brandon Diego Paiber, Jurgen Pisani, Tiago da Silva Galvao, Alex Cini, Jose Ulises Arias, Arthur Oyama, Edward Herrera, Ezequuiel Cesani

Balzan starting line-up: Sean Mintoff, Aleksandar Kosoric, Steve Pisani, Steve Bezzina, Paul Fenech, Alfred Effiong, Uros Ljubomirac, Ivan Bozovic, Elkin Serrano Valero, Ricardo Calixto Correa Duarte, Milos Lepovic

Referee: Stefan Pace

Assistant Referees: Luke Portelli, William Debattista

Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia

BOV Player of the Match: Enzo Ruiz (Floriana)

More in Football