Two songs by Ira Losco in Malta Eurovision contest semi-final

Ira Losco, who last year shot down rumours that she would be participating in the song contest again, will be performing "Chameleon (Invincible)" and "That's Why I love You".

The national broadcaster has announced the shortlist for the Malta Eurovision contest, which includes some familiar faces. 

Ira Losco, who last year shot down rumours that she would be participating in the song contest again - her first attempt bringing Malta nail-bitingly close to a win in the 2002 edition in Estonia - will be submitting "Chameleon (Invincible)" and "That's Why I love You" for judgement.

Other veterans of the local music scene include Klinsmann Coleiro, Laurence Gray and Corazon Mizzi. 

The longlist was composed of 153 songs, shortlisted to 49 songs, which will then be pruned further to only 20 songs by the semi-final, to be held on 22 January.

One day later, on 23 January, only 14 will compete in the finale. 

The 49 songs are:

96 - Francesca Bonnano

Alive - Jasmine Abela

All Around The World - Deborah C

Bare Your Soul - Chaya Fenech

Battle Zone - Kurt Cassar

Beautiful - Lyndsey Pace

Brave - Andre Curmi (Dre)

Breaking Point - Cherylis & Mikhail

Breathe - Cherylis

Can't Let Go - Jessika

Castle - Danica Muscat

Chameleon (Invincible) - Ira Losco

Dancing In The Rain - Francesca Borg

Empty Hearted - Domenique Azzopardi

Exceptional - Jean Claude Azzopardi

Falling Glass - Corazon (Mizzi)

Feeling Alive - Kelly Ann Mintoff

Fire Burn - Dominic

Fireworks - Iona

Flashing Lights - Raquel Galdes

Flawless - Franklin Calleja

Frontline - Danica Muscat

Go Beyond The Shore - Paul Cushieri

Golden - Brooke

Gone - Nazjo Rotin

Higher - Q

Hush Hush - Jessika

I Love You - Dario Mifsud Bonnici

I Won't Surrender - Franklin Calleja

Kingdom - Christabelle Borg

Light Up My Life - Stefan Galea

Lighthouse - Kimberley Cortis

Little Love - Franklin Calleja

MI-MI-MIND - Neville Refalo

Paper Boats - Joseph Portelli

Reaching - Panama Band- Simaria

Right Here With You - Sarah Crystal

Rule The World - Aidan Cassar

Someday - Klinsmann Coleiro

Tell Me What You Wanna Do - Julienne Liberto

That's Why I Love You - Ira Losco

The Flame - Jessika

Tonight - Kyle Mangani & Maxine Pace

Under The Sun - Daniel Testa

Victory - Amy Agius

Without You - Kaya

Young Love - Maxine Pace

Your Kiss - Malcom

You're Beautiful - Laurence Gray