Zebbug fight back to earn draw

Zebbug Rangers and Floriana played to a 3-3 draw yesterday afternoon. Zebbug had to work hard to earn a point as they fought back from two goals down.

Five minutes into the match, Floriana went close to scoring when Gary Muir served Vito Plut with the latter having his shot cleared off the goal line by Yessous Camilleri.

Zebbug took the lead on the 24th minute thanks to Bojan Mamic. Off a freekick by Carlo Monti, Bojan Mamic headed the ball past goalkeeper Valerio Senatore.

Floriana had to wait till the 43rd minute before they scored the equaliser.

The second half did not start good for Zebbug as Floriana managed to take the lead just two minutes after the start. Emerson Marcelina served Brooke Farrugia and off the latter’s cross, Vito Plut beat goalkeeper Jeffrey Farrugia from close range to make the score 2-1 in Floriana’s favour.

On the 58th minute, Floriana increased their lead. Emerson Marcelina served Steve Pisani who then dribbled the ball past the defence to conclude by beating Farrugia and making the score 3-1.

Floriana did not celebrate their two goal lead for long as Zebbug were awarded a penalty just two minutes later. John Nowba was brought down inside the area by Steve Pisani and the referee immediately pointed to the penalty spot.

From the penalty spot Carlo Monti beat goalkeeper Valerio Senatore with his shot to make the score 3-2.

Zebbug continued to push Floriana back and finally they managed to score the equaliser on the 42nd minute. Mauricio Britto shot from outside was enough to beat goalkeeper Valerio Senatore and make the final score 3-3.

FLORIANA Valerio Senatore, Andre Scicluna, Emerson Marcelina, Clyde Borg (46′ Steve Pisani), Vito Plut (66′ Amadou Samb), Emanuel Briffa, Brooke Farrugia (72′ Joseph Borg), Gary Muir, Sacha Borg, Steve Borg.

Subs not used: Andrew Zammit, Neil Spiteri, Giovanni Galea, Isaac Galea.

Coach: Giovanni Tedesco

ZEBBUG RANGERS Jeffrey Farrugia, Thomas Paris (79′ Miguel Ciantar), Matthew Gauci (85′ Lee James Agius), Ratko Mandic, Yessous Camilleri, Javier Dias Serrano, Matias Muchardi, John Ogechukwu Nwoba, Carlo Monti, Clifford Gauci, Bojan Mamic (64′ Mauricio Osmar Rodrigues Britto).

Subs not used: Luke Pace, Jonathan Xerri, Jacob Borg, Melvin Farrugia.

Coach: Jesmond Zammit

Referee: Andre Arciola

Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, William Debattista

Fourth Official: Marco Borg

Yellow Cards: Dias, Bonnici Pisani, S. Borg, Samb, Piciollo

BOV Player of the Match: Emerson Marcelina

More in Football

Get access to the real stories first with the digital edition