BOV Premier League | Ħamrun Spartans 0 – Valletta 0

Valletta were held by Ħamrun Spartans in a goalless draw.

Photo: Christine Borg
Photo: Christine Borg

Valletta came into this match on a high after a number of recent results that saw them climb first in the table. On the other hand, despite sitting midway through the table, the Spartans wanted a win against their rivals to consolidate their place in the top half of the table.

The citizens went close after seven minutes. Kyrian Nwoko won the ball at the heart of Ħamrun’s defence and hit a shot that was cleared off the line by Tiago Souza de Silveira.

The Spartans responded on the 15th minute. Francisco Manoel Clavero fired a shot that went over.

On the 27th minute, Umeh Uchenna Calistus of Valletta delivered a cross into the path of Matteo Piciolo whose shot was blocked by Jake Galea.

Three minutes later, Piciolo went close once more. From a free-kick, Deni Rocha Dos Santos served the Italian and the latter headed the ball slightly wide.

Two minutes from half time, Deni sent a through ball towards Nwoko who saw his close range effort being saved by substitute Steve Sultana.

Ħamrun threatened Valletta on the 45th minute. Cristian Zaccardo sent a cross towards Clavero whose header ended up high.

Valletta created the last chance of the match on the 76th minute. Rowen Muscat’s cross from a corner was met by Juan Gill Cruz and the Argentine saw his header going off target.

Following this result, Valletta, Balzan and Gżira United are all first with twenty-four points.

Ħamrun Spartans starting line-up: Jake Galea, Guilheme Felipe De Castro, Daniel Zerafa, Wim Bokila, Triston Caruana, Cristian Zaccardo, Tiago Souza de Silveira, Thiago Espindola de Paula, Francisco Manoel Clavero, Dale Camilleri, Arthur Faria Machado

Valletta starting line-up: Henry Bonello, Steve Borg, Ryan Camilleri, Juan Gill Cruz, Santiago Malano, Matteo Piciolo, Kyrian Nwoko, Jean Borg, Umeh Uchenna Calistus, Ibrahim Saleh, Denni Rocha Dos Santos

Referee: Alan Mario Sant

Assistant Referees: Robero Vella, Paul Apap

Fourth Official: Darryl Agius

BOV Player of the Match: Kyrian Nwoko (Valletta)