Maltese team win the European championship

The Maltese team composed of Brian Cini and Alex Borg won the snooker European championship organised by European Billiards and Snooker Association after beating 5-3 the Irish team composed of Brendan O’Donoghue and Ryan Cronin.

Alex Borg and Brian Cini with Jason Peplow and Ivan Attard
Alex Borg and Brian Cini with Jason Peplow and Ivan Attard

This win followed a 4-1 win in the semi-finals against Belgium. These championships were played in Vinus Lithuania.

Malta won these championships 4 times. The first win was in 2004 at Latvia. The following year, they won the same championship in Malta. Then, they won in 2014 in Romania and this year in Lithuania with Alex Borg forming part of every winning team, while for Cini this was his first international success.

The participation of Maltese players is being made possible thanks to the help given to Malta from the Malta Billiards and Snooker Association, sport Malta and the Olympic committee.

More information about these championships can be found on EBSA website, www.ebsa. tv.

More in Other Sports

Get access to the real stories first with the digital edition