'Re-Location' inaugurated at Bank of Valletta HQ

Six upcoming Maltese artists showcased by BOV

Re-Location – an exhibition of works by six upcoming Maltese artists was officially inaugurated by President George Abela at Bank of Valletta’s Head Office in Santa Venera.

The artists exhibiting their works are Emanuel Bonnici, Gilbert Calleja, Patrick Mifsud, Teresa Sciberras, Elisa von Brockdorff and Michael Xuereb.

“Bank of Valletta’s Head Office has become synonymous with exhibitions featuring the works of Malta’s most renowned and established artists” said Roderick Chalmers, Chairman, Bank of Valletta during his address to guests present at the inauguration ceremony.

“Having celebrated the works of Malta’s most highly acclaimed talent over the last decade with “retrospective” exhibitions, we felt that the time had come to have a “prospective” exhibition, and to display the works of some of Malta’s emerging artists and their prodigious talent.”

“This exhibition offers the public the opportunity to view a selection of the contemporary works produced by some of Malta’s upcoming young artists. Most of these works have never been exhibited before” continued Mr Chalmers. “Following two exhibitions featuring paintings and photographs by BOV Staff members over the last year, this exhibition is the first in a new series of innovative artistic initiatives undertaken by Bank of Valletta to raise the profile of the local artist”.

All the artists featured in this exhibition were born in Maltain the late 1970s or 1980s.  The concept of Re-Location rose from the fact that all the participating artists have had to move or relocate themselves mainly to follow undergraduate or postgraduate studies in the visual arts outside Malta.

As in past editions, this exhibition is being accompanied by a fully illustrated catalogue including a biographical synopsis of each artist and reproductions in colour of all the exhibits on display. The exhibition curator is Raphael Vella, and the exhibition will remain open to the general public until the 16th July 2010.