Melita win 20 over Winter League title

Last Saturday the final game of the 20 over Winter league was played. The game which was much waited for by the Krishna C.C who were looking for their fifth title and Melita C.C looking for their first.

The Melita team batted first and posted the highest total of the series so far. Their batsmen  were in full flight.

Openers David Borg and Chris Naudi gave them a good start with Borg punishing the bowling and making seventeen runs from nine balls before being bowled. Naudi went on to retire after thirty balls faced making twenty three runs. Frank Spiteri again in this series showing why he is rated among the all time great batsman on the Maltese islands making forty five runs from thirty balls faced, which included a six and three fours.

Shiva scored ten runs from eighteen balls which was slow compared to the other batsmen. Andy Lenard played a swash buckling innings of thirty four runs from twenty two balls which included four fours. Andy Naudi only occupied the crease for six balls but still managed nine runs. Prasad Abeysinghe (four runs) and Xavier Malan (three runs) saw out the last over of the innings. Including a handful of extras the Melita team compiled a fantastic score of 151 runs. For Krishna , Nowell Khosla was the main wicket taker with two while Ronnie Sacco and Joy Ghoseroy took a wicket each.

Nowell Khosla and Joy Ghoseroy walked out to middle with a tough mission at hand. Both were going well until Ghoseroy was run out for seven runs and as what happens when chasing a big score wickets are lost very quickly. The Krishna side lost six wickets for a mere eleven runs. Khosla went on to top score for his team with twenty four runs.. Towards the end of the innings Tony Slater (eleven runs) and Kevin Krishna (thirteen runs) held up the Melita team from the inevitable. Alas the Krishna team were bowled out for 89 runs. Justin Farrin Thorne was the main wicket taker for Melita, taking three wickets.

Frank Spiteri topped of his batting by taking two wickets while Chandikka, Prasad and Shiva all took a wicket each.

Next Saturday the 40 over Winter league continues between Melita Betfir C.C and Krishna C.C. From 9:00am till '0:30am the Sunuco cricket nursery/academy will be held.


More in Cricket