BOV Premier League | Tarxien Rainbows 1 – Ħamrun Spartans 4

Ħamrun Spartans made a good start to the BOV Premier League after registering a 4-1 win over Tarxien Rainbows.

Photo: Dominic Borg
Photo: Dominic Borg

The Spartans created the first opportunity of the match after fourteen minutes. Artur Faria Machado saw his shot being saved by Antonio Chetcuti.

Four minutes later, Ħamrun went ahead. In his attempts to clear Francisco Clavero’s  effort from a free-kick, Matthew Spiteri headed the ball into his own net.

Jacques Scerri’s side kept insisting and went close again on the 21st minute. Following a free-kick, Guilherme Felipe De Castro saw his header going over.

Ħamrun made it 2-0 on the 42nd minute. From a free-kick, Clavero hit a powerful shot that went behind Chetcuti.

Tarxien hit back and managed to reduce the margin of the score on the brink of half time. Ryan Darmanin received the ball inside the penalty area and finished behind Jake Galea.

Darmanin had another chance for Tarxien on the 52nd minute. After receiving the ball from Ayrton Azzopardi, the striker saw his close range effort going wide.

The Spartans won a penalty on the 64th minute as De Castro was fouled inside the penalty area by Andrew Agius. Valerio Gomes took charge of the penalty, but was denied by Chetcuti who produced an excellent save.

Tarxien’s chances took a set-back on the 67th minute as Ryan Darmanin was shown a straight red card by the referee.

Machado sealed the issue for Ħamrun the 79th minute. The latter received from Clavero and finished inside the net from close range.

However, there was still time for another Ħamrun goal as Pedro Henrique added another in the additional time.

Tarxien Rainbows starting line-up: Antonio Chetcuti, Andrew Agius, Andre Scicluna, Luke Grech, Sean Cipriott (Matthew Brincat – 76), Matthew Spiteri (Matteo Desira Buttigieg- 32), Eduard Calin, Ayrton Azzopardi, James Brincat, Ryan Darmanin, Artur Benes

Ħamrun Spartans starting line-up: Jake Galea, Philip Chircop, Daniel Zerafa, Tiago Indigo Souza de Silveira, Arthur Faria Machado, Terence Agius, Francisco Clavero, Thiaguinho Espindola de Paula, Dale Camilleri (Triston Caruana – 62), Guilherme Batata Felipe de Castro (Julian Galea – 81), Leo Valerio Gomes Dos Santos (Pedro Henrique – 84).

Referee: Mario Apap

Assistant Referees: Peter Abela, Christopher Francalanza

Fourth Official: Glen Tonna