Birkirkara defeat Valletta to win their seventh BOV Super Cup

Birkirkara started the new season on a positive note after they defeated champions Valletta 2-1 to win the BOV Super Cup for the seventh time in their history.

The celebrations start as Birkirkara win the BOV Super Cup
The celebrations start as Birkirkara win the BOV Super Cup

Valletta 1
Birkirkara 2

The match started with Valletta having the first attempt on goal. Off a cross by Abdelkarim Nafti, Adrian Zahra headed just wide of the Birkirkara goal.

Birkirkara then had a chance on goal when Rafael Ledesma’s shot was defelected into a corner. Off the resulting corner Alejandro Meddoza headed the ball over the net.

Birkirkara managed to take the lead on the 16th minute. Off a cross by Ryan Scicluna, Rafael Ledesma served Eliandro dos Santos Gonzaga who then had his low show from outside the area beat goalkeeper Yenz Cini.

Birkirkara almost doubled the score on the 22nd minute when Eliandro intercepted a bad pass by Joanthan Caruana. Eliandro rushed towards the area, but Cini managed to block his shot.

The second half started with Valletta’s captain Ryan Fenech releasing a powerful shot from just outside the area on the 47th minute that went wide.

Valletta managed to score the equaliser on the 57th minute. Off a freekick by Abdelkarim Nafti, Jonathan Caruana beat goalkeeper Justin Haber with his header.

Valletta started to gain more confidence and again went close to scoring when Ryan Fenech’s long-distance shot scraped past the post.

Valletta went close again to take the lead when Shaun Bajada’s effort went just over the net.

However, Birkirkara managed to surprise Valletta on the 69th minute when they took the lead again.  Off a cross by Ryan Camenzuli, Edward Herrera, who was left unmarked inside the area easily beat Valletta goalkeeper Yenz Cini to make the score 2-1.

Valletta were denied scoring the equaliser when Shaun Bajada’s powerful shot was deflected into a corner by goalkeeper Justin Haber.

Ass Valletta continued to press for the equaliser, Birkirkara managed to take all the pressure and protect their lead to win the first major trophy of the season.

MFA General Secretary Bjorn Vassallo and Bank of Valletta CEO Charles Borg presented the cup to Birkirkara captain Joseph Zahara at the end of the match.

VALLETTA Yenz Cini, Jonathan Caruana, Ian Azzopardi, Ryan Camilleri, Ryan Fenech (87′ Ian Zammit), Hugo Faria, Lateef Elford-Alliyu, Shaun Bajada, Adrian Zahra (59′ Raphael Alain Kooh Sohna), Abdelkarim Nafti (81′ Luke Montebello), Luke Dimech.

Subs not used: Nicky Vella, Steve Borg, Llywelyn Cremona, Christian Caruana.

Coach: Gilbert Agius

BIRKIRKARA Justin Haber, Matheus Bissi da Silva, Alejandro Mendoza Corujo, Nikola Vukanac, Rafael Pompeo Rodrigues Ledesma (89′ Leighton Grech), Eliandro dos Santos Gonzaga (68′ Ellinton Antonio Costa Morais), Joseph Zerafa (66′ Ryan Camenzuli), Zach Muscat, Ryan Scicluna, Edward Herrera, Edmond Agius.

Subs not used: Justin Tonna, Antoine Borg, Gareth Sciberras, Leighton Grech, Kurt Zammit.

Coach: Paul Zammit

Referee: Mario Apap

Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Peter Abela

Additional Assistant Referees: Adrian Azzopardi, Fyodor Zammit

Fourth Official: Luke Portelli

Yellow cards: Hugo Faria, Luke Dimech, Ryan Scicluna

Scorers: 16′ Eliandro dos Santos Gonzaga, 57′ Jonathan Caruana, 69′ Edward Herrera

More in Football

Get access to the real stories first with the digital edition