Ronaldo retires at the age of 34

The legendary Brazilian is set hang up his boots officially today.

Ronaldo has confirmed that he will announce his retirement, calling time on a rich unforgettable career in football.

The gifted striker, who currently plays with Corinthians stated that his injury and fitness troubles are the main factors for his decision.

"My body aches. In my head I want to continue, but this body can't take much more," Ronaldo told Fantastico online magazine. "In recent days I have cried like a baby."

Ronaldo has had a glorious playing career. He has spent the last two years at Corinthians after playing with PSV Eindhoven, Barcelona, Inter, Real Madrid and Milan.

Ronaldo is regarded as one of Brazil’s greatest ever players. He is the World Cup’s all-time leading goalscorer, with 15 goals in four tournament appearances. Ronaldo has won two World Cups.

He will formally end his career at a press conference at Corinthians headquarters at 12:40pm local time (15:40 CET, 14:40 BST, 09:40 EST.)

 

More in Football