New Executive Board of Directors for Maltese Olympic Committee

Following the recently held Elective Council Meeting, the Maltese Olympic Committee announced the formation of a new Executive Board of Directors

The Maltese Olympic Committee's new Executive Board of Directors is made up of the following members:

Julian Pace Bonello – President, liaison with Government and Sport Malta

William Beck – Vice President

Joseph Cassar – Secretary General

David Azzopardi – Director of Finance, Chair Sport for all Commission

Ivan Balzan -  Director of Sport

Whilst the above are expected to hold office for a four year tenure, the  following directors are expected to retain their posts for a period of two years as per current Statutory requirements.

Charlene Attard – Chair Athletes Commission, Olympic Academy

Dr. Lucienne Attard – Chair Anti- Doping Commission, Chair Women in Sport

Dr. Marie Therese Cuschieri – Olympic Solidarity, EU Funding

Mario Micallef - Technical Commission

Dr. Kirill Micallef Stafrace -  Chair Medical Commission

Paul Sultana – Chair Youth Commission

Jonathan Vella  – Chair Marketing Commission

Maria Vella-Galea  - Director Media and Public Relations

The Maltese Olympic Committee welcomes new blood to the team. Although these are in their first foray within the Maltese Olympic Committee, they are expected to bring a wealth of experience in sports administration. This complements the capability and know-how that existing board members have garnered throughout their years on the Committee.

Whilst expressing his concern at the fact that this year’s election did not present the usual amount of candidates coming forward for election, the Maltese Olympic Committee’s President, Julian Pace Bonello conveyed his belief in the setup of the new Committee and is confident that it will combine the energy and experience required to lead the Maltese sports governing body.

 “We hope to further strengthen our relationships with associated federations and help combat the seeming drain on administrators coming forward to contribute their expertise towards the development of sports. We do welcome and encourage an open discussion  by all stakeholders”, continued Pace Bonello.

The Committee’s main and immediate focus will be the forthcoming Games of the Small States of Europe which will take place between the 29th May and 5th June in San Marino. Team Malta will be fielding approximately 120 athletes and preparations are well at an advanced stage.

The final list of athletes will be announced at a press conference scheduled to take place at the Maltese Olympic Committee’s Headquarters prior to the Games.