Register for SMS Alerts
or enter your details manually below...
First Name:
Last Name:
Sorry, we couldn't find that email.
Existing users
Sorry, we couldn't find those details.
Enter Email
Sorry, we couldn't find that email.

FA Trophy | Floriana 2 – Ħamrun Spartans 0

Floriana are the last team to make it to the semi-finals of the FA trophy following a 2-0 win over Ħamrun Spartans.

Warren Zammit
19 February 2017, 7:12pm
Saturday Nanapere (Ħamrun) and Antonio Monticelli (Floriana) challenging each other for the ball. Photo: Christine Borg
Saturday Nanapere (Ħamrun) and Antonio Monticelli (Floriana) challenging each other for the ball. Photo: Christine Borg
Floriana went ahead on the 21st minute. Following a throw-in, Ħamrun’s defender Luis Miguel Vergara played the ball backwards towards Mario Fontanella who from an ideal position finished past David Cassar.

The greens doubled the score two minutes later. Maurizio Vella hit a shot from distance that was saved by Cassar. From the resulting corner, Enrico Pepe headed inside the net.

On the 31st minute, Fontanella served Vella and the latter forced a good save from Ħamrun’s goalkeeper.

Floriana were unlucky not to increase the margin of the score on the 54th minute. Fontanella delivered the ball in the direction of Ignacio Varela whose effort hit the woodwork.

The Spartans responded on the 79th minute. Saturday Nanapere finished high following a cross from Massimiliano Giusti.

One minute from time, Giovanni Tedesco’s side created the last chance of the match. Fontanella sent a pass towards Andre Scicluna whose shot was tipped for a corner by Cassar.

Floriana starting line-up: Matthew Grech, Enrico Pepe, Enzo Ruiz, Antonio Monticelli, Ignacio Varela, Sebastian Nayar, Maurizio Vella, Jurgen Pisani, Alex Cini, Mario Fontanella, Ryan Camenzuli.

Ħamrun Spartans starting line-up: David Cassar, Luis Miguel Vergara Rodrigues, Manolito Micallef, Karl Micallef, Siraj Arab Eddin, Jorge Mesqueu Neto, Igor Misan, Mathieu Manset, Saturday Nanapere, Massimiliano Giusti, Sergio Raphael dos Anjos.

Referee: Mario Apap
Assistant Referees: William Debattista, Paul Apap
Fourth Official: Etienne Mangion