Marsa still the team to beat

On Saturday the MCA Cricket Summer league continued with two games. The leaders faced of in the first game, both playing their fourth game in the competition.

The Marsa team batted first and had a great start from Frank Spiteri (twenty nine runs) and Simon Lavendar (thirty two runs), Sunny Krishna chipped in with twenty five runs, being the main scorers for their team. They totalled a moderate 130 runs from their allotted overs, a target the POP Mellieha team would hav fancied themselves making. For the POP team, Farhan Zaheer was the main wicket taker with three while Imran Muhammed and Wassem Abbas took a wicket each.

The last time these two teams met the POP team were bowled out for eighty runs. This time the POP scored more then that but not enough to win the game, they totalled 100 runs. Usman Khattak top scoring with twenty three runs, Imran Muhammed sixteen runs and Adeel Anzar with fourteen runs. For the Marsa team George Agius was the main wicket taker with three, while Ronnie Sacco and John Farrugia took two wickets each. Sarfraz Ali Also chipped in with one wicket. From the win Marsa earned eight points while POP eardned one.

In the second game the Overseas(third game)  team took on Melita Betfair (second game).

The Melita team batted first and scored a very healthy 151 runs in their twenty overs. Chris Riorden top scored with thirty three runs. John Grima twenty four runs, Murray Gower sixteen runs and Ben Cassels fifteen runs, being the main run makers. For Overseas Adam Caruana, Alex Taylor and Jim Hunter all took a wicket each. In reply the Overseas managed to bat through the twenty overs but only managed to score 76 runs. Mike Caruana top scored with nineteen runs and Pete Bradley scored sixteen. For Melita, Devon Brooke and Chris Riorden  took two wickets each while Pierre and Andy Naudi took a wicket each. Melita earned nine points while Overseas one point.

Next Saturday the Marsa team take on Melita and POP take on Krishna.


Marsa (four games) 34 points
POP (four games) 20 points

Melita (two games)  16 points

Krishna (three games) 4 points
Overseas (three games) 4 points

More in Cricket