European Parliament elections in Malta to be held on 8 June 2024

Europeans will vote for their representatives in the European Parliament between 6 and 9 June 2024

European Parliament President Roberta Metsola
European Parliament President Roberta Metsola

The European Parliament election in Malta next year will be held on Saturday 8 June.

European Parliament President Roberta Metsola announced on Wednesday that elections will be held in the 27 EU member states between the 6 and 9 June 2024.

Malta traditionally holds elections on a Saturday with early voting for those who will be abroad being offered a week before.

In a video message disseminated on Twitter, Metsola urged European voters to shape the future of the EU and go out and vote.

“It's time. To reform. To change. To keep listening, keep explaining and keep delivering. To recapture the sense of hope and possibility that the EU offers. You have the chance to choose… vote,” she said.

Next year’s election will be the fifth since Malta joined the EU in 2004. Malta elects six MEPs.

In the 2019 European Parliament election the Labour Party took four seats, while the Nationalist Party elected two MEPs.

The sitting MEPs are Alfred Sant, Alex Agius Saliba, Cyrus Engerer and Josianne Cutajar (PL); and Roberta Metsola and David Casa (PN).