Malta Hospice Movement awarded European Citizen's Prize 2014

Since 1989, Hospice Malta has helped more than 7,500 patients and families

The Malta Hospice Movement will be awarded the European Parliament’s Citizen's Prize for 2014 for their extensive work caring for hundreds of patients and families over the years.

The organisation has been jointly nominated for this year's prize by all Maltese MEPs, namely David Casa, Therese Comodini Cachia, Miriam Dalli, Roberta Metsola, Marlene Mizzi, and Alfred Sant.

"Hospice Malta is honoured to have been nominated for this prestigious award by the Maltese MEPs", Chairperson Lora Cascun said. "This year Hospice Malta is celebrating its 25th anniversary.

"Since 1989, we have helped more than 7,500 patients and their families through their difficult experiences. This nomination gives all Hospice staff and volunteers the impetus to continue delivering high-quality services to patients and their families."

The Hospice care services team receives more than 50 new referrals each month and carries out more than 6,500 assessments each year. Other key services include day therapy and respite services, bereavement support and loans of specialized equipment.

All the services are given free of charge.

"As an NGO, we are accountable to the general public so we need to ensure efficient use of our resources", explained Cascun. "Key performance indicators are used to measure effectiveness and efficiency with the aim being to continue providing a high quality service."

Investment in human resources and education in palliative care are paramount to Hospice Malta. In fact, it organises an annual European Certificate in Essential Palliative Care course for doctors and nurses as well as a biennial national conference.

The Maltese MEPs decided to nominate this movement to reward their noble efforts in providing care to so many patients and their families. Hospice values each one of them as unique individuals, irrespective of their race, religion or lifestyle.

An award ceremony will be held in Malta on 6 February 2015. The European laureates will then be selected by a Chancellery set up by the European Parliament, presided by the President. The European Laureates will be announced in a ceremony in Brussels taking place on the 25 February 2015.