Alternattiva Demokratika AGM approves motion reaffirming stand in favour of divorce

Michael Briguglio re-elected chairperson of green party Alternattiva Demokratika, with Yvonne Arqueros Ebejer as new deputy chairperson.

In its annual general meeting at Hotel Juliani, St Julians, Alternattiva Demokratika elected a new executive, which, apart from confirming Michael Briguglio as chairperson and Ralph Cassar as secretary-general, also includes a new deputy chairperson, Yvonne Arqueros Ebejer, amongst others.

Addressing those present at the meeting, Michael Briguglio, AD Chairperson, said: "Alternattiva Demokratika - The Green Party is clearly the only progressive party in Malta. Whilst other political parties are adopting confessional stances or sitting on the fence without committing themselves to anything, AD takes clear positions and we have no strings attached.

"Our clear stand in favour of the introduction of divorce and our clear condemnation of the Gaddafi regime in Libya, not just now, but from years ago, are just two current examples amongst many. During the coming year AD will keep working for social justice, civil rights, environmental sustainability and a healthy economy."

The AGM approved  the following motions: a motion on divorce, reaffirming the party’s stand in favour of divorce as a civil right and calling on the party to be at the forefront in the campaign for a ‘yes’ vote in a probable referendum on divorce;

-  a motion calling for parliament to face up to its responsibilities and for MPs to become full-timers to be able to serve the country in a professional manner including influencing, debating and researching EU directives, in view of the new powers accorded to national parliaments by the Lisbon treaty;

 - a motion calling for a realistic cost of living adjustment mechanism and an upward revision in the minimum wage, in view of the thousands of people at risk of poverty. The motion also calls for investment in alternative energy to wean the country off its total dependence on imported fossil fuels;

 - a motion calling for a solidarity initiative between all 27 EU countries to share responsibility for refugees from Libya and other Maghreb countries. The motion calls for UN forces to stop violence and for a UN peacekeeping mission in Libya.

AD's executive approved by the AGM for the year comprises of the following officials: Michael Briguglio, Chairperson; Ralph Cassar, Secretary General; Yvonne Arqueros Ebejer, Deputy Chairperson; Henrik Piski, Deputy Secretary General; Andre Vella, Public Relations Officer; Simon Galea, Treasurer; Arnold Cassola, International Secretary. Other members of the Executive are: Carmel Cacopardo, Angele Deguara, Mark Scerri, Richard Schranz and Nighat Urpani.

In the meantime, AD will shortly announce its new team of spokespersons.