Sharks lead series 3 to 1

On Saturday, 27 Ocotber, 2012 the fourth (from seven) game between the Chairmans Panthers and the Captains Sharks was played.

Chris Riordan in action
Chris Riordan in action

The Panthers without Nowell Khosla and Derek Ali were going to find it hard going against the Sharks who were two one up in the series.

The Sharks batted first with John Grima and Chris Riordan opening the batting. The pair put on a ninety three run partnership.

They had a couple of chances spilled along the way. Riordan was first to go when he had made forty four runs. Sarfraz Ali bowled a well flighted ball, Riordan went down the pitch to meet it on the full trying to hit hit the ball toward the boundary, he missed and was Joy Ghoseroys first stumping from four for the day.

Grima went on to make fifty two runs, his second half century for the series. Simon Lavendar scored twenty five runs, Dameon Willis thirteen runs and ZAC Millar twelve runs as the main run scorers. The Sharks made a reasonable score of 179 runs. For the Panthers Sarfraz Ali was the main wicket taker with three. Pragnesh Vaso and Bikram Arora both took two wickets each while Robert Krushna took one.

Sidharth Anand and Sumair Khan opened the innings for the Panthers, both made it to double figures , Anand with fourteen runs which included a massive six which went close to ninety meters, Khan made ten runs before being bowled.

Bikram Arora, the main Panther batsmen had plenty of pressure on him to perform but was soon out after making seven runs being well caught by the wicket keeper John Grima.

Robert Krishna scored fifteen runs and Haroon Majeed fourteen runs. Pragnesh Vaso batted well again and scored twenty one runs.

For the Sharks Mike Caruana took two wickets while Chris Riordan,Zac Millar,Dameon Willis,Matthew Gillard, Gordon Hewitt, Malcolm Crabbe, Simon Lavendar and Tony Slater all took a wicket each.

The Sharks take a three to one lead in the series and the Panthers will need to win next Saturday to keep in the series.

The Sunoco cricket academy/nursery will be from 9:00 till 10.30 am.


More in Cricket