Tour de France 2017: Chris Froome wins yellow jersey for the fourth time

Britain's Chris Froome won the Tour de France for the fourth time as Dylan Groenewegen sprinted to victory in Paris on the 21st and final stage.

Chris Froome
Chris Froome

Groenewegen defeated German Andre Greipel in a frenetic final sprint on the Champs Elysees but the day belonged to 32-year-old Froome.

The Team Sky rider is now second in the all-time list after completing his third successive victory.

Rigoberto Uran was second, 54 seconds behind, with Romain Bardet third.

"Each time I have won has been so unique, such a different battle to get to this moment," said Froome afterwards.

"They are all so special but this will be remembered as the closest and most hard fought."

It was a largely processional stage before they reached Paris - with Yoann Offredo stopping to greet family and friends as the race passed close to his home and Cyril Gautier writing a marriage proposal on a piece of paper that was then broadcasted on television.

But the stage ended in the expected bunch finish - with several teams trying to set up their sprinters before Lotto NL-Jumbo's Groenewegen held off his rivals to cross the line first.

Lotto Soudal's Greipel banged his head against his handlebars in frustration as he ended a Tour without a stage win for the first time.