Panthers claw their way to victory

On Saturday another low scoring exciting game was played by the Chairman’s Panthers and the Captain’s Sharks.

The Chairman's Panthers
The Chairman's Panthers

The Panthers batted first again and were looking to overhaul their previous weeks score. They had a steady start had only lost a wicket by the fifteenth over and had fifty eight runs on the board. By the thirty ninth over they were bowled out for 128 runs (they beat their previous weeks score of 124).

Bikram Arora top scored with twenty seven runs which included two boundaries. Robert Krishna made a patient twenty six runs and also scoring two boundaries. Nowell Khosla nineteen runs and Joy Ghoseroy with eleven runs were the other double figure scorers. The Sharks bowled well with Andrew Naudi, Justin Brooke, Tony Azzopardi and Gordon Hewitt all taking two wickets each while Mike Caruana took one. The Sharks were confident  in making the runs.

After twelve overs the Sharks had lost five wickets for thirty five runs and were in deep trouble. Mike Caruana joined John Grima and slowly brought the game at a balance with the pair putting on a fifty run partnership with Caruana being caught after making twenty four runs. Grima kept on plugging away till the end and made a gallant half century and finishing on fifty seven runs. Unfortunately he ran out of partners. The Panthers clawed their way back into the series with a four run victory. Bikram Arora who is enjoying a great series was top wicket taker with three taking his tally to eight in the two games. Nowell Khosla , Kevin Krishna and Derek Ali all took two wickets each in the victory.

This coming week has the Marsa C.C playing against two touring sides, Old Lincolnians C.C who will be on their fifth tour, their first being in 1998. Romany C.C will be on their first tour. The Marsa team will play Old Lincolnians on Wednesday and on Sunday while they will play Romany C.C on Saturday. The two teams play each other on Friday.

On Saturday the Sunoco cricket nursery/academy will be from 9:00am till 10:30am.

More in Cricket