ASMK Autocross finals this Saturday

Sunday 25th January 2015 'Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi’ organized the seventh program of the ASMK - Pasta Poiatti 2014/15 Championships at Ta Qali. Despite the overnight storm the Association made everything to continue the day’s  program as scheduled. But it was not the same for the Motocross section. These races had to be postponed for safety reasons for another day.
Meanwhile the day was not missing any fun as though the track surface was excessively wet at first most drivers change racing techniques and adjust to the continuously changing track conditions. This condition leaves some drivers struggling to keep their vehicle stable on course. Despite these conditions on the day 24 drivers which were divided into 2 classes participated in the day’s event. The current classes are one for Autocross Modified and another for the Standard class.
A look at the day’s events where in the Autocross Modified Class Vince Farrugia on Volkswagen Polo, Christian Mark Galea on his Fiat Ritmo and Lucas Pace on his Honda Civic obtain the highest score of the day during the three Heats. Though none of the competitors managed to win all the heats of the day Farrugia, Galea and Pace secured their positions on the Class A Final race. Together with these Andrew Pisani on Vauxhall Nova, Godfrey Gauci on Ford Fiesta and Philip Grima on Ford Escort also secured their place on the six-car Start line-up.

Class B finalists are Malcolm Borg on an Opel Corsa, Philip Joe Vella on his Opel Nova, Jean Paul Grech on a Peugeot 106, Jason Martin on Volkswagen Polo, Pedro Attard on his Fiat X-19 and Martin Godwin on an Opel Corsa.
Unfortunately the instability of the weather persists throughout the whole day but  although it did not rain during the Heats program just before the final races heavy showers poured down and made the tracks unsafe. This situation did not leave any option for the Administration of the Association except to postpone the Race Finals A and B of the day for next Saturday 31st January 2015. These final A and B races start at 2: 00pm. Entrance to watch these race finals is for free for all.

The Autocross Standard Class Deane Farrugia was seen to dominate the day in his class on his Citroen AX 1400cc. Farrugia was always followed by John Agius on Peugeot 206 during the three Heats. In the final race Farrugia continued his victory and was always followed by Agius.
The auto racing activities of the Association  are to continue on Sunday 8th February when the Association will be organizing the Third Enduro event. This time this Race will be held at the quarry at Torri Falka at Zebbieh limits of Mgarr.

On Saturday 7th February the Association will be organize a Dinner Presentation to honor the champions of the 2013/2014 ASMK National Championships. Together with this presentation of throfies ASMk will also be presenting trophies as well to the winners of the last two race events held at Ta Qali. This dinner-presentation will be held at the Hotel San Antonio in Qawra.
More information can be obtained from the website

More in Motorsports

Get access to the real stories first with the digital edition