ASMK rewards the Champions

Matthew Gauci wins the Enduro

Matthew Gauci. Photo by Samuel Scicluna
Matthew Gauci. Photo by Samuel Scicluna

On Sunday 8  February the ‘Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi’ organized the third Moto Enduro Championship event sponsored by ASMK – Pasta Poiatti 2014/15. This was organized in the Quarry at Torri Falka within the limits of Mgarr. The event started at 10.00am and was supported by Dunlop Tyres and KTM of Malta.

The 27 competitors were divided into two classes, one Class A for motorcycles with a capacity up to 250cc and Class B for motorcycles with a cylinder capacity greater than 250cc. On the 3.5 kilometers long track Daniel Caruana on a Honda 125cc registered his first best time in Class A followed by Bernard Sammut on a Yamaha 125cc and the 250cc KTM of Nigel Anastasi in 3rd place.

During the second Heats Caruana continued to improve his time and defend his position in first place. He registered a best in class time of 4 minutes 41.71 seconds. Sammut followed but did not make any improvement in his lap-time. Never the less he kept his place in second position with a best time of 4 minutes 53.27 seconds. Anastasi finished in third place with a time of 5 minutes 5.21 seconds.

In Class B there was an interesting competition between James Zahra on his Yamaha 250cc and Matthew Gauci on his 300cc KTM. From the start Zahra was seen faster and registered the best overall time in the Pole Position. He continued to better his time in the first timed Heat with 4 minutes 15.21 seconds. Till now Gauci was always in second place with a time of 4 minutes 19.07 seconds. Alex Sant Fornier on his KTM 450cc was places 3rd overall with a lap of 4 minutes and 23.20 seconds.

The 2nd Last Heat was crucial especially for the first three riders to try to improve their lap times. This left us in an unusual tense situation. During the last Heat Zahra fell of his bike and lost time to recover. It was difficult for him to improve on his first Heat thus he retired while Gauci managed to improve on his first Lap Time and registered his best of the day at 4 minutes 10.48 seconds to finish winning this class ahead of Zahra. Joseph Scicluna on Honda 125cc finished in 3rd in class with his best of 4 minutes 20.73 seconds. Sant Fournier is fourth with his best time of 4 minutes 23.20 seconds.

Matthew Gauci finished winning the overall prize of this event followed by James Zahra in 2nd place.

Meanwhile on Saturday 7 February ASMK organized the annual Dinner-Presentation at the San Antonio Hotel to honor the Champions and Runner-up's of each Club within the Association. Among the sportsmen ASMK honored Melo Zammit who on a Ford Escort MK 3 won the Autocross Championship and Runner-up Vince Farrugia on his VW Polo. Clayton Camilleri on a KTM motorcycle won again the Motocross Championship. His Runner-up is Paul Muscat on a KTM. James Zahra on a Yamaha won the first Enduro Championship while his runner-up was Matthew Gauci on a KTM. Robert Caruana on a Gas Gas Trials bike won the Championship. His Runner-up is Nick Farrugia on his Beta.

During his speech the President of the Association Frans Deguara congratulated all winners while he thanked all the ASMK executive members, helpers and the sponsors who were also present. Parliamentary Secretary for Youth and Sports Hon. Chris Agius MP was also invited but could not attend. Also present was the Opposition spokesperson for Sport Hon. David Agius MP. In his speech he offered his support in the ASMK sports field and was confident that together with the Parliamentary Secretary for Sport and the Executive Committee of the ASMK will continue to work towards this sport to keep moving forward. Hon. Agius also congratulated and presented trophies to the winners while he was also presented with a token to commemorate the occasion.

The activities of the Association will continue on Sunday 15 February when the 4th Trials  Championship Competition in the ASMK – Pasta Poiatti 2014/15 will be held at the ASMK Sports complex at Ta' Qali with 10 sections to compete. This starts at 9: 00 am. More information is found in the ASMK Official website

More in Motorsports

Get access to the real stories first with the digital edition