Leicester win classic final

Leicester win classic final Leicester were crowned Premiership champions for the third time in four seasons after denying Saracens title glory following an epic 33-27 victory at Twickenham. The Tigers retained their league crown by keeping composure during a thrilling encounter when the lead changed hands seven times. Centre Matt Smith, scrum-half Ben Youngs and substitute Danny Hipkiss scored tries for Leicester, with England international Hipkiss striking three minutes from time. But it was fly-half Toby Flood's goalkicking that made the difference as he booted 18 points from four penalties and three conversions, while number eight Jordan Crane delivered a monumental man-of-the-match display. Saracens captain Ernst Joubert claimed a touchdown in each half, and there were 17 points for fly-half Glen Jackson on his final appearance before retirement, but the Hertfordshire club have still not won a major trophy since 1998. And they will kick themselves for missing several tackles on Hipkiss during a dramatic finale after Tigers wing Scott Hamilton snaffled possession from the restart after a Jackson penalty had edged Saracens 27-26 in front.

More in Rugby