Krishan lose to Marsa

On Saturday the 20 over Winter League continued with the Marsa C.C (looking for their first win) playing the leaders Krishna C.C.

Sam Aquillina wicked keeping
Sam Aquillina wicked keeping

The Marsa team batted first and lost three early wickets of Sumair Khan, Sunny Krishna and Robert Krishna who between them scored seven runs. Daniel Galea took two of these wickets. Tony Azzopardi and Javed Shah rescued their team scoring eighteen runs and twenty nine runs respectively both hitting a couple of fours along the way.

Derek Ali scored thirteen before he and Malcolm Crabbe were out in consecutive balls from Ronnie Sacco. Sam Aquilina (thirteen runs) and Mike Caruana (seventeen runs fro thirteen balls) took their side to 124 runs from the allotted overs. For Krishna Kevin Krishna and Nowell Khosla also took a wicket each.

The Krishna team also had a bad start losing three of their first four batsmen for nine runs. Nowell Khosla the pick of the batsmen was doing extremely well , in fact had scored thirty six runs from twenty four balls before being bowled by Malcolm Crabbe. He also scored three fours and a six. Ronnie Sacco was going along at a run a ball until he was caught on twenty eight runs, he also scored three fours.

This opened up the tail end of the Krishna batting and only Ian Pendelbury (thirteen runs) and Kevin Krishna (eight runs) showed any resistance. For Marsa Sarfraz Ali and Malcolm Crabbe took three wickets each, Tony Azzopardi took two while Mike Caruana took one. Sam Aquilina who was wicket keeping managed to take three stumpings and a catch. The Krishna team totalled 105 runs. Marsa win their first game in the league. The Marsa team earned eight points while Krishna eaerned one point, but still lead the ladder by their nearest rival Melita C.C, by six points.

Next Saturday the Marsa team take on Melita C.C. The Sunoco cricket academy/nursery will be from 9:00am till 10:30am.


More in Cricket