Portugal snatch Euro 2016

Despite losing Ronaldo after just twenty three minutes, Eder's strike on the 109th minute made the difference, as Portugal managed to beat France 1-0 to win their first ever European Championship.

Captain Cristiano Ronaldo holds aloft the Henri Delaunay Trophy after Portugal defeated tournament hosts France to win Euro 2016
Captain Cristiano Ronaldo holds aloft the Henri Delaunay Trophy after Portugal defeated tournament hosts France to win Euro 2016
Portugal players celebrating Eder's goal on the 109th minute
Portugal players celebrating Eder's goal on the 109th minute

France started on the attack looking for an early goal. They created their first good opportunity on the 10th minute when Griezmann forced an excellent save from Patricio. The ball was crossed from the left towards the Athletico Madrid striker, whose header was saved acrobatically by the goalkeeper. From the resulting corner, Giroud sent another header at goal which was easily saved by the Portuguese goalkeeper.

The hosts were close again on the 22nd minute when Sissoko drove into the heart of the Portugal defence and fired a left footed shot that was tipped by Patricio.

A minute later, Portugal suffered a huge setback when Ronaldo suffered a knee injury and was taken off the pitch to be replaced by Quaresma.

Sissoko tested Patricio again on the 33rd minute. The Newcastle player turned brilliantly inside the penalty area, and fired a strike towards the near post. The Portugal keeper held firm to produce another good save.

The next good opportunity on goal came on the 65th minute. Coman sent a wonderful cross from the left that was met by Griezmann. However, the French striker headed over the crossbar for a goal kick.

Ten minutes later, Rui Patrcio was decisive again after Coman managed to find Giroud, who saw his strike being beaten by the Sporting goalkeeper.

Portugal responded on the 80th minute. A miskicked cross by Nani from the right nearly caught Lloris out, but the France goalkeeper managed to flick the ball away.

Three minutes later, Sissoko was again denied by the Portuguese goalkeeper. The France midfielder fired a shot from thirty yards out that was heading towards the corner of the net, but the Portugal goalkeeper palmed it away at full stretch.

During the additional time given by the English referee, France were unlucky not to score the winning goal when Gignac stroke the woodwork. The French striker managed to go past Pepe before beating Patricio, but the ball came off the post to send the game into extra time.

Pepe had a good chance on the 94th minute when from a free kick, he sent his effort narrowly wide of the post with Lloris beaten. However, the flag went up for an offside.

France were rescued by their goalkeeper on the 104th minute after Quaresma’s corner found Eder who headed towards goal, but Lloris managed to produce a difficult save to keep the game level.

Portugal kept getting better and hit the woodwork on the 108th minute. From a free kick, Guerrero stepped up and fired a shot that hit the post.

A minute later, the Portuguese managed to score the goal that clinched the trophy. Eder received a pass from Moutinho, and went onto his right, before unleashing a strike towards the near post that ended up behind the French goalkeeper to send the Portuguese supporters into a Euphoria.

This is the first major tournament won by the Portuguese after losing the final against Greece in 2004.

France starting line-up (4-2-3-1): Lloris; Sagna, Koscielny, Umtiti, Evra; Pogba, Matuidi; Sissoko, Griezmann, Payet; Giroud.

Portugal starting line-up (4-4-2): Patricio; Cedric, Pepe, Fonte, Guerreiro; Mario, William, Sanches, A. Silva; Nani, Ronaldo.

Yellow cards

Cedric (Portugal), Mario (Portugal), Umtiti (France), Guerreiro (Portugal), Matuidi (France), Carvalho (Portugal), Koscielny (France), Pogba (France), Fonte (Portugal), Patricio (Portugal).


Mark Clattenburg (England)